Today, 175 acres of Mill Grove's original estate remains largely as Audubon found it - a haven for birds and wildlife. The property boasts more than seven miles of trails and stunning views of the Perkiomen Creek. The historic three-story stone farmhouse serves as a museum displaying original Audubon prints, oil paintings, and Audubon memorabilia. The John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove is owned and operated through a unique partnership between the Montgomery County Department of Parks & Heritage Services and The National Audubon Society.
The John James Audubon Center at Mill Grove (JJAC) is conveniently situated near dozens of other Southeast Pennsylvania area attractions: Valley Forge National Historical Park (3 miles), King of Prussia Mall (5 miles), QVC Headquarters (18 miles), and Longwood Garden and Brandywine Valley (30 miles). Center City Philadelphia is just 23 miles from the site and is easily accessible via nearby Interstate 76. Route 422, located approximately one mile from Mill Grove's entrance, connects travelers with the Pennsylvania Turnpike and is a major corridor into the Berks County countryside.
From 1803 to 1806 Mill Grove served as the first American home to John James Audubon, the renowned artist and naturalist. It was here that an 18-year-old Audubon first fell in love with the American landscape and sketched native wildlife and flora. By 1827 Audubon had turned his passion into profit, publishing The Birds of America - a groundbreaking study of North American birds depicted in never-before-seen detail and realism.
Located at the junction of Audubon and Pawlings Roads in Audubon, PA.